Price: ¥2,200

Receive a solid cast of 4x tier 1 New World wines each month for ¥1050.

Please click on the wines listed below to extend/retract descriptions.

3x B.P. Rothschild Maipo Mapu Reserva Chardonnay Chile, Maipo Valley

We would have to say that the Rothschild forays into Chile have been great for the consumer. They are, in the Mapu range, producing the golden bullet wines we seek: low cost wines punching above their weight in a sturdy, consistent and agreeable way.
This review from a German website:

Beautiful (light) golden colour. Delicate fragrance with notes of citrus and tropical fruit, a hint of hazelnut. A wide rich flavour, full of ripe fruit leads to a nice round after taste. A fragrant, fresh and powerful wine.

May 2012: I thought it was elegant. Understated but very present. No oak. Just fruit, and that fruit is well balanced. Acidity is lower than one might expect, but the body is medium to full weight.

3x Miguel Torres Hemisferio Sauvignon Blanc Chile, Central Valley

Here’s a brand that I have really watched develop for a couple of years. Each vintage since 2010, more accomplished than the last. Now, at last, not only ‘delivering‘, but ‘astonishing‘ for the money.

A fresh, floral wine with a fruity body and a silken palate of great finesse. Displays intriguing notes of exotic fruits (passion fruit, grapefruit). Its silky palate is exquisitely intense, with a good acidic structure and a prolonged, joyous finish.

And to top it all, Torres supports the Chilean Patagonian wilderness. Ethics; that’s what we like!

Nov 2011: Tasting this right now, 4 days after opening, the acidity has diminished a little or the softer fruit notes have developed into a rather pretty partnership.

January 2013: This really has developed and begun to exceed the San Medin SB for expression. cheaper too…….!

3x De Bortoli Sacred Hill Shiraz Cabernet Australia, Riverina (NSW)

De Bortoli have done it again. The wine is repeatedly a silver and bronze medal winner at several wine competitions. I sampled this on Sunday night after a roast dinner (Nov 2011). I drank the entire bottle. That’s not normal for me.

Vibrant purple, deep crimson. Lifted plum and spice. Fresh fruit, berry and toasty vanillin oak. Soft, rounded tannins with good length.

They have the sweet-fruit-oak-tannic balance to perfection and not simply for a wine in this price-point. I was staggered that they can do this so effectively, time after time when I taste so much disappointment from time to time in higher priced wines. My hats go off to De Bortoli again. That’s 2 silver and a bronze from the range we stock. Not bad. They are fast on their way to getting a winery of the year award from the like of James Halliday. I just wish they made the labels a bit smarter.

3x Bodegas Alina Emblema Cabernet Sauvignon Chile, Central Valley

Having tasted this for the first time in December ’11, it got onto our website without hesitation. It is staggeringly good for very little cost.

Vivid ruby colour. Exquisite aroma of forest berries and spices on a rich background of leather and liquorice. Palate characterised by sweet healthy tannins from the fruit and the vegetal nuances typical of this variety.

It’s even better after being open a while; unusually so, for a wine of such a low price point.

My every day red wine of choice at the moment ( January 2012).

UPDATE: Emblema spotted on a Chinese website (March 2012) for ¥98 a bottle, brilliantly on ‘offer’, down from ¥135. Then in March 2014 we were told it should be retail at ¥138. Blimey, are we selling it too low a price? Ah well. That’s us.

FAQ’s

First purchase is charged for 2 months (so that subsequent COD payments are 1 month in advance). includes FREE DELIVERY. See below for full details. Cancel Any time.

*Free Delivery: Free delivery for all LW Wine Club customers in the Shanghai (Puxi) Metro area; inside the outer ring road and the enclave of Western Suburbs. Outside that area we can negotiate a good rate to cover any additional cost.

Payments: On the first visit you pay for 2 deliveries, that’s ¥2100. Then on each subsequent delivery you pay ¥1050. Cash on Delivery accepted. If you choose to drop out of the club, no payment will be made on the final delivery.

Delivery days: In the first week of the month, usually Monday or Thursday. We can leave wines and collect payment from you or your authorised receiver only, such as Ayis, Guards or Office Staff. Each month we will contact you in the week prior to ask if you require the wines in the next month.

Bi-Monthly, etc? Yes, we can do alternate periods. You can have these wine club deliveries personalised to come every 2 or 3 months.

Replacements Pledge: Due to the vagaries of SH customs and the long supply chain, some wines are sometimes not available. We reserve the right to replace unavailable wines with those on our lists of similar price, value and quality; matching region, grape and producer as best we can, if we can. Under those circumstances the price will remain constant even if it costs us more money.

Other orders: Yes, it’s possible to combine your Monthly Wine club with another order to be delivered together. Combined orders would need about a week’s notice.

Cancellation: Cancel any time. We will make one final delivery after you cancel bringing us all square regarding the money.

Holidays: Recommence monthly deliveries after a holiday trip any time.

For more information submit your interest in an enquiry here.

Post image for # WINE CLUB: Standard Monthly 12: ¥2400 / 2 months

Price: ¥2,500

We created a mixed case of our most popular wines to take the guesswork out of restocking the ‘regular tipple’. We deliver the Standard Monthly 12 to you each month unless you opt out. At ~20% discount off the market price, it’s great value.

The initial cost covers 2 months (so that subsequent COD payments are 1 month in advance). See below for full details.

Here is the product list for the Standard 12. Click on a title for more information.

1x Bodegas Alina Emblema Cabernet Sauvignon

Having tasted this for the first time in December ’11, it got onto our website without hesitation. It is staggeringly good for very little cost.

Vivid ruby colour. Exquisite aroma of forest berries and spices on a rich background of leather and liquorice. Palate characterised by sweet healthy tannins from the fruit and the vegetal nuances typical of this variety.

It’s even better after being open a while; unusually so, for a wine of such a low price point. My every day red wine of choice at the moment (January 2012). UPDATE: Now our top selling red, I spotted Emblema Cab on a Chinese website (March 2012) for ¥98 a bottle, brilliantly on ‘offer’, down from ¥135, and in a shop for ¥110 (November 2012). Criminal.

1x Callia Alta Syrah/Malbec

Tasting Intense violet wine with ruby tints. It is a wine of great aromatic intensity. Its prevailing penetrating and vigorous notes are ripe blackberries, plums and figs, which, together with their sweet tannins and balanced acidity, render a full-bodied wine with a long finish.

We sell a lot of this wine. I don’t think it is possible to find a trustier everyday glugging wine that can be enjoyed by lovers of both Old and New World styles. Since its introduction late spring 2011, it has quickly has become our 2nd top selling red wine. (March 2013: no. 1 top selling red wine).

Food Matching: Perfect with pasta in rich sauce.

Note: Won 2nd place in a Shanghai tasting competition for sub RMB100 wines. Callia is a winery to watch.

1x B.P. Rothschild Mapu Red (Cab Sauv / Carmenere)

This wine is very refined for such a LOW price point. it is a masterful blend of 3 southern grape favourites; Syrah, Grenache Noir and Mourvedre from the very southern Rhone Valley offering an:

ample, rich and fruity nose with aromas of liquorice and cassis which tumbles into elegant tannins with a beautiful balanced, long finish.
Food Matching: Ideal for red meats, meat in sauces & white meat & cheese.
Scored 87/100 in the Wine Spectator magazine.

Between you and me, if you leave it open for 24 hours it’ll knock your socks off the next day. Or open 2 and drink 1 to see the difference.
Consistently one of our most popular red wines in winter and among French wine drinkers.

1x De Bortoli Sacred Hill Chardonnay, Multiple Awards '12, '13 & '14

The previous vintage was a gold medal winner, our top selling white wine, amazing quality for the price and a wine we drink at home every other week!

Pale straw with green hue. Zesty lemon citrus and stone fruit aromas balanced with buttery oak notes. Fruit-driven wine with crisp acid, great texture and balance on the mid palate. The subtle oak approach has given added structure to the wine without overpowering it leaving the citrus and stone fruit flavours to dominate.

1x De Bortoli Sacred Hill Shiraz Cabernet

De Bortoli have done it again. The wine is currently a silver and bronze medal winner at several wine competitions. I sampled this on Sunday night after a roast dinner (Nov 2011). I drank the entire bottle. That’s not normal for me.

They have the sweet-fruit-oak-tannic balance to perfection and not simply for a wine in this price-point. I was staggered that they can do this so effectively, time after time when I taste so much disappointment from time to time in higher priced wines. My hats go off to De Bortoli again. That’s 2 silver and a bronze from the range we stock. Not bad. They are fast on their way to getting a winery of the year award from the like of James Halliday.

Vibrant purple, deep crimson. Lifted plum and spice. Fresh fruit, berry and toasty vanillin oak. Soft, rounded tannins with good length.

1x De Bortoli Sacred Hill Sparkling Brut

Pale straw in colour. Attractive nose of strawberries and cream with citrus notes in the background. A very refreshing, easy drinking sparkling wine, with fresh fruit flavours. Delicate and creamy mouth-feel, finishing with crisp acidity.

This is our (way out ahead) top selling sparkler. So Yummy, that our friends regularly argue this is just like champagne. It is not like Champagne at all. It is far less complex. It is ten times cheaper too. There is no hype here. Just a sturdy, refreshing, dry, crispy bubbly. You can afford to drink it all the time.

We drank it all summer long and wondered why other folks dream about over-dry, over-biscuity, champagnes that cost the earth and are often plain rubbish. De Bortoli is solid from top to bottom. We love this company!

1x Miguel Torres Chile San Medin Sauvignon Blanc

This is much nearer to the French style than the New Zealand.

Light bright yellow. A fresh, floral wine with fruity body and a silken palate of great finesse. Displays intriguing notes of exotic fruits (passion fruit, grapefruit). Its silky palate is exquisitely intense, with a good acidic structure and a prolonged, joyous finish.

Food Matching: An excellent complement for shellfish, fish and seafood rice. My family had this with Rosemary Chicken tonight (Nov2011) and it was a match made in heaven.

1x Suelo Argentino Malbec mendoza

The dark purple colour and attractive blackberry nose are inviting. The taste is rich and fruity with satisfying weight and an appealing finish making this a very moreish wine.

Blending: Our little secret…shh!

When feeling particularly devilish, blend this malbec with a couple of other wines to play around. Mix it with 50:50 DeBortoli Shiraz or Cotes Du Ventoux.

All 3 blends produce different effects as all 3 other wines are very different, but the overall flexibilty is a massive boon. Purists may make faces, as if this anything resembling putting coca cola into the claret. That misses one point and is silly about another.

Winemakers would kill for the chance do do what we can do, but which some feel we shouldn’t do, in our own glasses. Blending is a skill, learned by trial and improvement. It is a good thing. Anyone can improve their wine experience and knowledge and have fun doing it. And it needn’t cost the earth.

We are not mixing Pauillac and coke.

1x Enrico Serafino Barbera D’Asti DOCG

Barbera D’Asti is a wine that displays an intense violet colour and typical perfumes of cherries. Intense and rich nose. The typical nice acidity brought by Barbera grapes creates an explosion of cherry and flowers perfumes. It never fails to impress.

Food Matching: Put it with food and you are in for an ‘experience’. Game and roast meat. Serving temperature 16-17 °C.

It hails from the same stable as the Barbaresco and Barolo above. (The latter selling in Xintiandi for ¥880 a bottle, in 2010).

Experiment with mixing this wine with Serafino Barbaresco (after a Swiss guy suggested it). Oh My Gosh – goes the vernacular. Heaven.

The Wine Man says: This is the best sub-¥150 wine in Shanghai: more refined and interesting than anything costing ¥40 to ¥60 more, from either the old or new world.

September 2013: We believe this wine will no longer be imported into SH after the current vintage is exhausted, so technically, it is a Bin End (but we have about 50 bottles).

April 2014: New 2011 Vintage tested. report to be posted soon. Early bird word: Yum Yum. Frensh and vibrant and so silky smooth.

1x Chiaro Primitivo IGT

A very welcome surprise, this wine. This wine has been on our shelves and portfolio for almost 4 years. The ghastly label does nothing to entice me in. Yet the prosecco from these guys is perfectly drinkable, some would say; a revelation (revolution?) in dryness. In terms of awareness on our own internal radar here at LWwines, Chiaro’s Primitivo fits squarely into the ‘we should have tried it earlier‘, but equally we are reminded of the ‘there’s only so many hours in the day’ adage. Plus, the label design is off-putting, isn’t it (just a little?).

Anyhow, once we took the plunge inside and under the screw cap (which is not that common in Italy, we found lots and lots of fruit and a nice touch of spice. A food wine with no requirement of such, and perfectly able to stand on it’s own.

Primitivo is, of course, a largely unknown grape, in the hierarchy of things vinous, which rather excitingly (to us anyway) also masquerades as, the mysterious, ‘clone?’ or exact DNA replica, depending on your view, of California’s flagship variety, Zinfandel. We drank it over 3 days and while we must stress it was still fine as time wore on, it was best on day 1 when it’s freshness was just so, err, attractive. 16.5pts

September 2014 update: Married this with a lovely Roast pork and vegetables dinner just last night and was very impressed again. The fruit/spice elements just right for the richly black and white peppered and apple/pear sweetened sauce.

1x Sella & Mosca La Cala DOC

La Cala is a lovely white made from Vermentino grapes on the warm island of Sardinia. Italy has a plethora of indigenous (and little known) white grape varieties that are very suited to warmer climates. The resultant wines are similar to Sauvignon Blanc and make a good alternative.

It has an intriguing green hue and an intense and fresh complex nose that belies the light structure on the palate of marine saltiness and fruit bursts. A long soft finish commands attention. If ever a wine was meant to be married to seafood La Cala is it: always ably bringing out the best in a partner dish. Serve fairly COLD at 10°C!

This wine was awarded a score of 86/100 by Robert Parker in The Wine Advocate who described it as ‘The World’s Best Wine Under $25′. He noted:

“A classic Vermentino with its soaring, perfumed aromatics and crisp, clean fruit.” Robert Parker.

Quite a statement. (and it was also reported in the Best Italian Values in 2007).

February 2013: Out of season I have been drinking quite a few whites recently. I haven’t tucked into La Cala for a while and I was struck by quite how very dry it is, and for a 2009 vintage, it still has excellent acid. It paired beautifully with Pan Fried Bream yesterday. Then, I remembered that it was the most popular white at our Winter 2010 tasting event. Who said cold weather a whites don’t mix?

September 2013: Now we have our hands on the 2012 Vintage. WOW.

1x Zonin Prosecco NV Italy, Veneto

The best selling Prosecco in the world. Not much else to say, other than…

Luminous, brilliant straw yellow. Intense, fruity, aromatic, with scents of wisteria. Extremely pleasant, with a lightly nutty finish. Food Matching: An excellent aperitif, it can also accompany dishes that are not too rich; ideal with fruit salad.

Reviews and Scores: Vintage , 87/100 , Wine Enthusiast , “A Best Buy” June 2006

 

All that for ¥1200 per month. On top of that you will receive FREE DELIVERY and a Free Gift Sparkling Wine Saver with your first monthly selection (while stocks last).

FAQ’s

Free Delivery: Free delivery for all LWwines Club customers in the Shanghai Metro (Puxi) area; that’s inside the outer ring road and the enclave of Western Suburbs. Outside that area we can negotiate a good rate to cover any additional cost.

Payments: On the first visit you pay for 2 deliveries. Cash on Delivery. If you choose to drop out of the club, no payment will be made on the final delivery.

Delivery days: In the first week of the month, usually Monday or Thursday. We can leave wines and collect payment from you or your authorised receiver only, such as Ayis, Guards or Office Staff. Each month we will contact you in the week prior to confirm your requirement in the next month.

Bi-Monthly, etc? Yes, we can do alternate periods. You can have these wine club deliveries personalised to come every 2 or 3 months.

Replacements Pledge: Due to the vagaries of SH customs and the long supply chain, some wines are sometimes not available. We reserve the right to replace unavailable wines with those on our lists of similar price, value and quality; matching region, grape and producer as best we can. Under those circumstances the price will remain constant even if it costs us more money.

Other orders: Yes, it’s possible to combine your Monthly Wine club Standard 12 with another order and be delivered together. Combined orders would need about a week’s notice.

Cancellation: Cancel any time. We will make one final delivery after you cancel bringing us all square regarding the money.

Holidays: Recommence monthly deliveries after a holiday trip anytime.

For more information submit your interest in an enquiry here.

{ 0 comments }

The Top 30

Many wines from across the globe land on our desks. Some are selected by us and some recommended to us. It’s my pleasure to present the 30 best value, quality fine wines we source for our Shanghai customers.

Tasting silhouette

We sample every style imaginable from the New & Old World, young & aged, oaked & unoaked, fresh & weighty, hearty & soft, spicy reds, sweet desserts, aromatic whites, sparkling roses, screw tops & cork sealed, bottle & box. Assessment is objective, rational, considered (sometimes even romantic).  Their suitability  for inclusion in our mission to bring the best value wines to a discerning audience is determined through long hours and many repeat tastes. It’s a dirty job, but someone’s got to do it.

Quality and Value

Quality is the first criteria but Price is key. The balance between quality and price must be right.  There are other considerations. Some products we adore have negative supply issues, such as intermittent or weak logistical support. If we feel there might be an issue we omit the wine.

Our recommended list reflects those that made it through that stage. Some successful candidates are later removed if the wine no longer meets our existing guidelines or our assessment criteria change.

In our book, value doesn’t mean cheap. It doesn’t mean poor quality, either. It means “particularly notable quality for the price“.

When considering this premiership list we take a closer look at flavour profiles, availability, consistency of supply, vintage changes, general appeal versus specific interest, focus group responses and flexibility of use by occasion and price. They still have to taste nice too (though according to some research and one of my blogs it apparently isn’t that important for some consumers when selecting and reselecting their wines. Mmne…odd world, we live in).

Anyhow, for those that want to know where the best bang for the buck might reside, highlighted here are 30 wines priced between RMB75 and RMB523 which The Wine Man feels best reflect the ‘particularly notable quality for the price‘ adage.

Italy, Spain and the New World continue to offer the most interesting and consistent quality versus price ratios. Interestingly, all but one of the tier 3 and 4 wines who make it to the top 30 are Italian, such is the their value right now. Click on any link to find out more of what we think of these wines.

Any of these 30 show exceptionally high quality for the price and will continue to do so well into 2012. From this list we have selected 3 from each grouping (tier 3 and 4 were combined) and then from those, a best red and white wine. See below.

Several of these wines are now medal winners and the Chinese made Silver Heights is now awarded best Chinese Red wine at the Annual wine Challenge at Shanghai Hilton (August 2012).

Here are the tier 1 wines that made it and in bold the winners from that tier:

•  Bodegas Alina Emblema Cabernet Sauvignon

Callia Alta Syrah/Malbec

•  B.P. Rothschild Mapu Red (Cab Sauv / Carmenere)

•  De Bortoli Sacred Hill Chardonnay

•  De Bortoli Sacred Hill Shiraz Cabernet

•  De Bortoli Sacred Hill Sparkling Brut

♥ Miguel Torres Chile San Medin Sauvignon Blanc

Enrico Serafino Barbera D’Asti DOCG

•  Woodbridge Zinfandel

•  Chateau Lamargue Grandes Cabanes White AOC BIN END

•  Zonin Prosecco-Black Bottle

And the tier 2 wines:

•  Zonin Sparkling (Spumante) Rose

•  Fernway Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc (new 2012 vintage available!)

•  Enrico Serafino Gavi DOCG

•  Camino De Castilla Ribera Del Duero Crianza (Tempranillo)

•  Torres 10 Brandy

Bodegas Bilbainas Vina Paceta Rioja Crianza (Now re-branded ‘Pomal’)

Kleine Zalze Vineyard Selection Chenin Blanc (Barrel Fermented)

Zonin Ripasso Superiore DOC

•  Sella&Mosca Tanca Farra DOC

Tier 3 & 4 wines:

•  Coppola Diamond Chardonnay

Enrico Serafino Barbaresco DOCG

•  Enrico Serafino Barolo DOCG

•  Frescobaldi Nipozzano Riserva Chianti Rufina DOCG

Silver Heights Family Reserve

Terredora Greco di Tufo Loggia della Serra (bin end)

•  Sella&Mosca Marchese Di Villamarina DOC

•  Zonin Amarone Della Valpolicella DOC

Tier 5 wine: 

•  Terredora Taurasi Fatica Contadina (bin end)

Red wine overall Number #1 winner  is… Enrico Serafino Barbaresco DOCG

White wine overall Number #1 winner is… Kleine Zalze Vineyard Selection Chenin Blanc (Barrel Fermented)

Watch out for the soon to be released Mifan Mama cookbook that tells in humorous style how best to make interesting meals in the less than satisfactory kitchens that pervade in SH. Many of the wines featured on this list and others in our portfolio are matched to around 24 of those recipes, with up to 4 wine recommendations per recipe (when I really got carried away!). We will let you know when that is available and where to get hold of a copy. Proceeds, of course, to the wonderful childrens’ charity and (I expect) Shining Stars too.

The Wine Man August 2012 (updated)

{ 0 comments }

Reds Taster Pack (Tier 1)

Price: ¥1,025

UPDATE: We have replaced the deleted Zonin Merlot & Ch. Lamargue by Emporio Nero D’Avola and Heritage de Baroncourt rouge.

There’s several trusty Cabernets, each with it’s own take: Black grapesa sturdy yet easy drinking award-winning, fruit-driven Malbec, an award winning Aussie Shiraz Cabernet, a light yet spicy Rhone Grenache, food friendly Barbera and Dolcetto from Piedmont, a glugging Tempranillo (with an identity crisis…) and a rustic hot climate inky Nero D’avola from Sicily.

Pretty much a cornucopia of styles and regions for the intrepid adventurer.

A great place to start exploring the captivating range of red grape styles from both the Old and New Worlds, with and without oak.

Start singing: “RED, RED, wine………”

Please click on the wines listed below to extend/retract descriptions. 

2x Castillo De Manza Tempranillo Spain, La Mancha (tier 1)

I love the bargains that is Spain and Italy right now. Long may it last. It’s one of the reasons I chose to specialise in Italian wines; apart from the obvious love affair with that country’s wines.

This low priced bargain is a dark purple red with an attractive violet tone. There’s a clean aroma of ripe fruits; strawberry and raspberry and some pervading herbal notes. On the palate it is smooth and full bodied with soft tannins.

Castillo de Manza falls firmly under the ‘glugger’ moniker with such a price, but wait, there is something unusual about this wine.

For me, it resembles a French wine; not a Spanish. I could swear there are Cabernets Sauvignon or Franc in this blend evidenced by the herbaceous aromas and weight. It seems so French. But It is 100% Tempranillo, the grape of Rioja, Ribero Del Duero and Valdepeñas. There’s a good weight and it’s hearty disposition means this wine thrives alongside some hearty food, like roast meats and chilli and pizza.

Last October 2011 my wife exclaimed that this wine is better than Capocaccia (Our top selling red wine). It’s cheaper too.

2x Callia Alta Shiraz / Malbec Argentina, San Juan (t1)

I don’t think it is possible to find a trustier everyday wine that can be enjoyed by lovers of both Old and New World styles. We sell a lot of this wine. Since its introduction in late spring 2011, it has quickly has become our top selling red wine.

Tasting Intense violet wine with ruby tints. It is a wine of great aromatic intensity. Its prevailing penetrating and vigorous notes are ripe blackberries, plums and figs, which, together with their sweet tannins and balanced acidity, render a full-bodied wine with a long finish.

Food Matching: Perfect with pasta in rich sauce, Steaks, hearty dishes.

Note: Won 2nd place in a serious Shanghai tasting competition for sub ¥100 wines. Callia is a winery to watch.

1x DeBortoli Sacred Hill Shiraz Cabernet Australia, Riverina (t1) Commended 2104

De Bortoli have done it again. The wine is currently a silver and bronze medal winner at several wine competitions. I sampled this on Sunday night after a roast dinner (Nov 2011). I drank the entire bottle. That’s not normal for me.

 Vibrant purple, deep crimson. Lifted plum and spice. Fresh fruit, berry and toasty vanillin oak. Soft, rounded tannins with good length.

They have the sweet-fruit-oak-tannic balance to perfection and not simply for a wine in this price-point. I was staggered that they can do this so effectively, time after time when I taste so much disappointment from time to time in higher priced wines. My hats go off to De Bortoli again. That’s 2 silver and a bronze from the range we stock. Not bad. They are fast on their way to getting a winery of the year award from the like of James Halliday. I just wish they made the labels a bit smarter.

1x Heritage de Baroncourt ROUGE VDP D'Oc France, Rhone (t1)

A masterful blend of 3 southern grape favourites; Syrah, Grenache Noir and Mourvedre from the very southern Rhone Valley offering an ample, rich and fruity nose with aromas of liquorice and cassis which tumbles into elegant tannins with a beautiful balanced, long finish.

Food Matching: Ideal for red meats, meat in sauces & white meat & cheese.

This wine is very refined for such a LOW price point. Consistently one of our most popular red wines in winter and among French wine drinkers.

Scored 87/100 in the Wine Spectator magazine.

1x Portillo Salentein Malbec Argentina, Mendoza (t1) Silver Medal 2013 & Bronze MEDAL 2014

Portillo Malbec is a steady favourite among our customers, particularly through the colder winter months. The fruit forward style with supportive acidity is very welcome at this price.

It has an interesting ruby-red colour with violets tints. Wine of great structure, well-balanced acidity and long finish. The nose is rich in fruits, with reminiscences of plum, black fruits and blackberries and violets from the Uco Valley.  At the start of mouth, its tannins feel soft and pleasant, with marked roundness at the finish and a strong fruity after-taste. Perfect with pasta in rich sauce.

So guess who won a major award in 2013: SILVER MEDAL at Decanter magazine?

1x Firriato Emporio Rosso (Nero D'Avola) Italy, Sicily (t1)

A bright, lively ruby-red colour. Vinous bouquet, fresh and attractive, with rich fruity tones. Dry but well-balanced flavour: extremely easy to drink.

Food Matching: Ideal to enjoy with some grilled white meat and vegetables or with pasta or noodles.

1x Enrico Serafino Barbera D'Asti DOCG Italy, Piedmont (t1)

For us, this is the most interesting sub-¥130 wine in Shanghai. Big Statement? Well, it is more refined and interesting than anything costing ¥40 to ¥60 more, from both the old and new world. Astonishing.

We have been drinking this wine every few weeks now for over 2 years (That’s at least 25 bottles which is saying something thinking about the busy schedule to keep up for the educational side of this job.) It is staggeringly ‘that good’.

Barbera D’Asti is a wine that displays an intense violet colour and typical perfumes of cherries. Intense and rich nose. The typical wonderful acidity brought by Barbera grapes creates an explosion of cherry and flowers perfumes.

It never fails to impress. Great when first opened, it is absolutely stunning after 1 hours open. Sometimes, I have a glass and then finish the bottle the next day with little or no vacuum pumping. The in glass and in bottle development, once open, are beautiful to behold.

Food Matching: Put it with tomato based sauces and you are in for an ‘experience’. I love it mostly with strong flavoured herby and earthy casseroles, pizza and pasta. Loves to be matched with food. But I often drink it after the meal or without food (on its second day of opening). Serving temperature 16-17 °C.

It hails from from the same producer as our impressive Barbaresco and Barolo.

In the early days, we experimented with mixing this wine with Serafino Barbaresco after a Swiss guy asked me to find him a Barbera/Nebbiolo blend. We failed to locate one, so we made our own. Heaven.

April 2014: New 2011 Vintage tested. report soon. early bird word? Yum Yum. Frensh and vibrant and so silky smooth.

1x Armand Dartois Cotes Du Ventoux AOC France, Rhone (t1)

Cotes Du Rhone reds are a beguiling mixture of styles and prices.

This wine has a light body with an earthy, spicy character that is typical of the Grenache grapes and the Ventoux appellation. It’s lightness makes it easy drinking. Notice how it develops more complexity as you quaff your way through the bottle. Pair this wine with any hearty dish, pizzas, chilli and you can’t go wrong. Some even chill these wines on a hot day and match it with a BBQ burger.

1x BP Rothschild Maipo Mapu Cabernet Sauvignon Chile, Maipo (t1)

This is from a German website:

Beautiful dark red. Aromas of black currant, blackberries and blueberries. The taste is fresh and elegant, with round and soft tannins that gives the wine excellent balance. The long and expressive finish rounds off a wonderful fruity and powerful wine.

The site also goes on to say that mechanically harvested grapes are fermented at high temperature in stainless steel barrels for a ‘long time’ (to protect good balanced tannin structure) then spends 7 to 8 months ageing in stainless steel; this wine receives no oak at all. I am imagining then from this description a lot of fruit, jammy almost with maybe some mint, and no tobacco or cigar box notes. Whatever the outcome its not expensive to find out for yourself.

update: tasted Jan 2012: I thought it was a yummy little sub-¥100 fruity red, with enough substance to get me to the ‘nodding approval’ phase as I sipped.

1x Bodegas Alina Emblema Cabernet Sauvignon Chile, Central Valley (t1)

Having tasted this for the first time in December ’11, it got onto our website without hesitation. It is staggeringly good for very little cost.

Vivid ruby colour. Exquisite aroma of forest berries and spices on a rich background of leather and liquorice. Palate characterised by sweet healthy tannins from the fruit and the vegetal nuances typical of this variety.

It’s even better after being open a while; unusually so, for a wine of such a low price point.

My every day red wine of choice at the moment ( January 2012).

UPDATE: Emblema was spotted on a Chinese website (March 2012) for ¥98 a bottle, brilliantly on ‘offer’, down from ¥135. Amazing.

South American Discovery (Tier 1)

Price: ¥1,075

A wonderful value-laden trip through the fruit-bowls of Argentina and Chile with some noble and some novel grapes. Argentina Flag thumb 60x30

South America is the number 1 region when it comes to value. And now this continent is also Chile flag thumbhitting superb new heights for quality, driven by improvements in wine making skills.

This is where both Carmenere and Malbec reach their ultimate expressions. Steak and red wine

A great introduction to the increasing variety of the region and soooooo good with a steak…

Please click on the wines listed below to extend/retract descriptions. 

1x Callia Osaado Chardonnay Argentina, San Juan

Callia is one of the wineries of the season as far as we are concerned and one we fully intend to watch develop into master crafts-folk, despite their relatively large operation.

This is a fresh and fruity wine, lush with intense aromas of citrus and tropical fruits. Its delicate, satisfying mouth-feel is enhanced by a lingering finish.

This might well be the best low price Chardonnay we have. It’s good enough to drink on its own.

March 2012: More than anything else, when I look at a wine in this price bracket, it’s usually about what I don’t want to see in the wine. So far, after 3 or 4 bottles, I can report that those negative elements are happily absent.

May 2012: with a little bottle age, some settling down after journeying here from Argentina and warmer weather this wine is coming into it’s own. It is refreshing, flavoursome and aromatic.

September 2013: the new 2012 vintage shows, as the grapes age, just how much an extra 2 years of maturity, has brought on the flavour development nicely.

1x Callia Alta Shiraz/Malbec Argentina, San Juan

Tasting Intense violet wine with ruby tints. It is a wine of great aromatic intensity. Its prevailing penetrating and vigorous notes are ripe blackberries, plums and figs, which, together with their sweet tannins and balanced acidity, render a full-bodied wine with a long finish.

Food Matching:  Perfect with pasta in rich sauce.

I don’t think it is possible to find a trustier everyday glugging wine that can be enjoyed by lovers of both Old and New World styles. We sell a lot of this wine. Since its introduction late spring 2011, it has quickly has become our 2nd top selling red wine. My wife now has her own collection of this wine.

Note: Won 2nd place in a serious Shanghai tasting competition for sub ¥100 wines. Callia is a winery to watch.

1x Torres Hemisferio Sauvignon Blanc Chile, Central Valley

Here’s a brand that I have really watched develop for a couple of years. Each vintage since 2010, more accomplished than the last. Now, at last, not only ‘delivering‘, but ‘astonishing‘ for the money.

A fresh, floral wine with a fruity body and a silken palate of great finesse. Displays intriguing notes of exotic fruits (passion fruit, grapefruit). Its silky palate is exquisitely intense, with a good acidic structure and a prolonged, joyous finish.

And to top it all, Torres supports the Chilean Patagonian wilderness. Ethics; that’s what we like!

Nov 2011: Tasting this right now, 4 days after opening, the acidity has diminished a little or the softer fruit notes have developed into a rather pretty partnership.

January 2013: This really has developed and begun to exceed the San Medin SB for expression. cheaper too…….!

1x Salentein Portillo Malbec Argentina, Mendoza Silver medal 2013 & Bronze Medal 2014

Portillo Malbec is a steady favourite among our customers, particularly through the colder winter months. It is also a staple of the Wine Bars we supply where the fruit forward style with supportive acidity is very welcome at this price.

It has an interesting ruby-red colour with violets tints. Wine of great structure, well-balanced acidity and long finish. The nose is rich in fruits, with reminiscences of plum, black fruits and blackberries and violets from the Uco Valley. At the start of mouth, its tannins feel soft and pleasant, with marked roundness at the finish and a strong fruity after-taste.

Food Matching: Perfect with pasta in rich sauce.

1x BP Rothschild Mapu Cabernet Sauvignon Chile, Maipo

This is from a German website:

Beautiful dark red. Aromas of black currant, blackberries and blueberries. The taste is fresh and elegant, with round and soft tannins that gives the wine excellent balance. The long and expressive finish rounds off a wonderful fruity and powerful wine.

The site also goes on to say that mechanically harvested grapes are fermented at high temperature in stainless steel barrels for a ‘long time’ (to protect good balanced tannin structure) then spends 7 to 8 months ageing in stainless steel; this wine receives no oak at all. So, a lot of fruit, jammy almost with a hint of  mint;  no tobacco or cigar box notes. Its inexpensive to find out for yourself. Me, I thought that for the price it was absolutely lovely, easy to drink and had enough interest to keep me satisfied. Great value in Chile at the moment.

1x BP Rothschild Mapu Merlot Chile, Maipo

A bright and clear ruby red. Fresh and seductive, combining red berry fruit aromas with touches of vanilla. The refined mid-palate reveals cherry flavours perfectly complemented by a suggestion of toast and supported by mature tannin, building to a well-balanced and elegant finish.

I had to rely on Dave for this one as I don’t actually drink Merlot as a rule: Keep it under your hat. Each to his own and all that. Thanks Dave. Sounds absolutely lovely.

1x Callia Osaado Shiraz Argentina, San Juan

This wine has a purplish-red colour with bluish tints. Its nose features prunes and the spicy aromas typical of Shiraz. The mouth-feel shows a strong presence of fruits and medium structure, and is complex and creamy.

All true: but what it does not say is that (despite a rather irritating design for the bottle’s wine label) the contents inside the bottle are OK. Don’t be put off by the exterior. We so often buy with our eyes and I had to force myself to try this. Of course, the price helps ease the risk, but it’s a risk well worth taking. It won’t set the world on fire but it won’t disappoint anyone either.

Spicy fruity with some backbone from the house of Callia.

1x B.P. Rothschild Mapu Red (Cab Sauv / Carmenere) Chile, Maipo

Your chance perhaps to have your first glimpse of Carmenere.

We would have to say that The Rothschild forays into Chile have been great for the consumer. They are, in the Mapu range, producing the golden bullet wines we seek: low cost wines punching above their weight in a sturdy, consistent and agreeable way.

Very attractive ruby red with a violet tint. Rich and generous, an explosion of red fruit, blackcurrant and blackberry mingled with subtle, spicy notes. A fresh, round and fruity attack.

Elegantly structured by the Cabernet Sauvignon, on the mid-palate the wine displays the velvet, silky tannins typical of Carmenère picked at optimum ripeness. Very pleasant overall balance, the harmonious finish lingering on the richness and freshness of the fruit. Fabulous.

2x B.P. Rothschild Mapu White (Sauvignon Blanc/Chardonnay) Chile, Maipo

We would have to say that The family Rothschild forays into Chile have been great for the consumer. They are in the Mapu range producing the golden bullet wines we seek: low cost wines punching above their weight in a sturdy, consistent and agreeable way.

Bright, brilliant pale yellow. Fresh and elegant, it opens on grapefruit and mango notes. A fresh elegant attack leads into a succulent mid-palate that starts on citrus and goes on to develop notes of tropical fruit, building to a lively and well-balanced finish.

May 2012: Firmly established in our cooler now for the summer. The blend is a stroke of genius: Sauvignon, which is the dominant grape brings so much aroma and freshness which the Chardonnay fruit underscores with depth, substance and weight. The combination scampers around your taste-buds like a puppy dog. All the bases are covered. Aperitif, refreshing quencher, food able and dry & fruity.

1x Bodegas Alina Emblema Cabernet Sauvignon Chile, Central Valley

Having tasted this for the first time in December ’11, it got onto our website without hesitation. It is staggeringly good for very little cost.

Vivid ruby colour. Exquisite aroma of forest berries and spices on a rich background of leather and liquorice. Palate characterised by sweet healthy tannins from the fruit and the vegetal nuances typical of this variety.

It’s even better after being open a while; unusually so, for a wine of such a low price point. My every day red wine of choice at the moment (January 2012).

UPDATE: Our top selling red, we spotted Emblema Cab on a Chinese website (March 2012) for ¥98 a bottle, brilliantly on ‘offer’, down from ¥135, and in a shop for ¥110 (November 2012). Criminal.

1x Suelo Argentino Malbec Argentina

The dark purple colour and attractive blackberry nose are inviting. The taste is rich and fruity with satisfying weight and an appealing finish making this a very moreish wine.

When feeling particularly devilish, blend this malbec with a couple of other wines to play around. Mix it with 50:50 DeBortoli Shiraz or Cotes Du Ventoux.

All 3 blends produce different effects as all 3 other wines are very different, but the overall flexibilty is a massive boon. Purists may make faces, as if this anything resembling putting coca cola into the claret. That misses one point and is silly about another.

Winemakers would kill for the chance to do what we can do, but which some feel we shouldn’t do, in our own glasses. Blending is a skill, learned by trial and improvement. It is a good thing. Anyone can improve their wine experience and knowledge and have fun doing it. and it needn’t cost the earth.

We are not mixing Pauillac and coke.

Italian Value Pack (Tier 1&2) 12 bottles

Price: ¥1,200

We aim to create a simple, satisfying 12 bottle collection of Old World offerings from various regions; with a 50:50 split of reds & whites that are engaging, interesting, fulfilling & lively. In short; wines we like to drink.

We have brought in 9 new options that we can drop into this case including 2x Pinot Grigios, ditto 2x new Vermentinos, a couple of Nero D’Avolas, a Toroldego and a 2x Cannonau. You want to explore those options, just let us know.

For now, if ordered, we’ll set the price at a discount with the lower priced newcomer options as default but let you upgrade to the higher grade wines, as requested.

Please click on the wines listed below to extend/retract descriptions.

2x Fonte Frontini Vermentino Di Sardegna IGT Sardinia NEW

For those unfamiliar with Vermentino (and interested in trying new varieties that aren’t Chardonnay) it is a white grape variety typical of the warm Island of Sardinia that flourishes in hot places. Sella & Mosca is now marketing this grape globally.

This wine could be described as having a seaside freshness. The saltiness of the locale is transferred to the wine producing savoury, minerally and zesty flavours similar to a French A.O.C. Sauvignon, Chenin Blanc or Pinot Blanc.

A pleasantly aromatic nose moves into a dry, fresh and lively fruit. Drunk as an aperitif or with hors d”oeuvres, seafood, fish and white meat, there’s a slightly spritzy character from what the Italians call a ‘frizzante’ or gentle sparkle.

Serve rather cold indeed: 8°C.

2x Firriato Emporio Rosso Sicily IGT or Frontini Cannonau Di Sardegna IGT (or 1 of each; Choose)

Description of Firriato Emporio Rosso Sicily IGT

A bright, lively ruby-red colour. Vinous bouquet, fresh and attractive, with rich fruity tones. Dry but well-balanced flavour: extremely easy to drink.

Food Matching: Ideal to enjoy with some grilled white meat and vegetables or with pasta or noodles.

Description of Frontini Cannonau Di Sardegna IGT

Coming Soon…

2x Chiaro Pinot Grigio IGT Veneto

Popular with those who like a white wine to be drier and fresh.

Appealing straw-yellow colour with delicate green reflections. Delicately fruity, medium bodied and refined. Lightly dry, yet extremely fresh. It also offers a delicious reminder of the original grape. It’s light and elegant structure makes this an unusually refined and aristocratic wine, especially at this price point.

Food Matching: It combines particularly well with delicate appetizers, pasta courses with light sauces and white meats. In addition, it makes a fine aperitif.

2x Zonin Collection Montepulciano D'Abruzzo DOC Abruzzo

Bright, warm ruby-red colour. Broad bouquet, with well-defined scents of bitter almonds against a faint background of wild berries. Smooth flavour, full-bodied with notable personality and outstanding persistence.

Food Matching: Ideal to enjoy with red meat dishes, or with spicy meat dishes.

March 2012: Fantastically impressed with this last W/E at a dinner party. The Montepulciano gave a very good account of itself as the third wine. It stood up very well in fact to the Barbera D’Asti and was more popular than that wine, I think, and as a precursor to the Barbaresco it was fabulous. And the Beef Bourguignon was enhanced by it. Trouble was, we had opened 3 Barbarescos, so they took the limelight.

April 2014: Always a pleasure to return here which seems to be about every 4 months. Any season is fine as the lower tannins ease the drinker into just about any circumstance. The wine made for a very smart pairing with home made Tagliatelle with meat and tomato sauce last week, and this week with Lamb Shanks. Bright acidity, warm Mediterranean tones and plummy/cherry flavours. Just saying the name is evocative. Easy going to a fault and well worth the lower than expected price tag. Second test (April 6th) the bottle was a 2010 and the whole bottle went in an evening. 17 pts.

2x Zonin Chianti DOCG Tuscany

Chianti needs no introduction for most wine drinkers these days. Perhaps fewer realise the region’s tumultuous ‘quality verses quantity’ history, the revolutionary zeal of prominent producers from the 1980’s to regain former glories and the great successes it has had in doing just that. Described by Jancis Robinson as the ‘Bordeaux of Italy’, the comment can be read in 2 ways. Excellence and massive popular influence.

The reduction in the use of white grapes in the blend has perhaps been one of the greatest and hard fought innovations. Indeed many Chiantis are now 100% Sangiovese.

Chianti ages well due to it’s acidity levels, yet softer tannins make it approachable in moderate youth too.

A classic style of a classic wine. Bright ruby-red colour of an attractive intensity. In its youth, it is richly marked by violet reflections that tend to become garnet with age.

Characteristically intense aromas with fine, elegant and distinguished by an scents of violets, wild berries including subtle notes of plums.

This Classici Chianti is nicely balanced and enticing with lingering acidity and flavours of cherry & spice. Full-bodied with well integrated, fine textured tannins and beautiful fruit on the finish.

When it is young, the wine combines well with the hearty flavours of country cooking and it can be consumed throughout such meals. After the third year, it becomes the ideal companion of every type of roast, grilled red meat, game and moderately aged cheeses. Chianti and red sauces are a match made in heaven.

Internationally famous, characteristically intense entry level Chianti from a dependable producer.

2x Chiaro Prosecco DOC Veneto

When first tested a few years back, Chiaro Prosecco seemed VERY reasonable for the price (and had those stunning design lines). Long in the shadows, it sold in bucket loads (200+ bottles in 3 years) without a dedicated web page. That says a lot about our commitment to conventional marketing (which we kinda don’t…er…do), but a lot more about how good this Prosecco actually is.

Pale light yellow colour, with fine perlage. Delicately fruity, slightly underwhelming aromatic bouquet for me (who likes big aromas of stone-fruit and green fruit) but it is well balanced with a light body and a harmonious taste. Serve fairly cold at: 8-10°C

Note: this is an Extra Dry Prosecco. Recently we bent to pressure to give this wine it’s own product page.

We laid five sparkling wines side by side and asked friends to tell us the order of cost just by the look and feel of the bottles. Every person thought it looked the most expensive. It was one was the cheapest. Dive in to discover why it’s so popular.

Prosecco is light and fresh, and the fruit always seems vibrant with a nice balancing acidity. That’s me; a Prosecco fan.

 

Classy Party 12

Price: ¥1,500

This pack was created to meet the requirement to have a collection of everyday and more serious wines all together, covering all the bases for any Festive Season (which, from my perspective, seems to cover the entire year, these days) or any larger social gatherings.

It is packed with wines we drink all the time and a couple kept for special occasions. Lay out these wines on a table for, say, a 50th birthday party, and relax.

To avoid any ‘supermarket dross’ wines, ban anyone from bringing wines to the event.

A little too OCD? Perhaps, but we firmly believe at LWwines that Life’s too short for bad wine.

Wines that have run out are replaced by similar following discussion with customers.

Please click on the wines listed below to extend/retract descriptions.

2x Callia Alta Shiraz Malbec Argentina, San Juan Tier 1

Tasting Intense violet wine with ruby tints. It is a wine of great aromatic intensity. Its prevailing penetrating and vigorous notes are ripe blackberries, plums and figs, which, together with their sweet tannins and balanced acidity, render a full-bodied wine with a long finish.

Food Matching: Perfect with pasta in rich sauce, Steaks, hearty dishes.

I don’t think it is possible to find a trustier everyday wine that can be enjoyed by lovers of both Old and New World styles. We sell a lot of this wine. Since its introduction in late spring 2011, it has quickly has become our top selling red wine.

Note: Won 2nd place in a serious Shanghai tasting competition for sub RMB100 wines. Callia is a winery to watch.

1x Camino de Castilla Ribera Del Duero Tempranillo Crianza Spain, Ribera Del Duero Tier 2

Intense blackberry colour. Spicy and intense nose, with liquorice and black pepper hints on a base of well ripened fruits (blackberry and cherry). On the palate, very fruity at first with ripened tannins, also persistent and full bodied.

Ribera Del Duero is a unique place in Europe. It has some of the most expensive wines in the World and relatively few people know it exists or where it is. That keeps some prices down, but not all! At has thrown up an absolute gem at a real bargain: a glimpse into the majesty that is the region. Out of the reach of many mortals, Vega Sicilia ( over ¥3000 a bottle) is grown within a day’s walk of our Camino De Castilla. Think Rioja with a similar fruit intensity, just a tad less oak. This is also a little lower priced than our Rioja crianzas. Can you guess which I drink more of?

The wine would be in it’s best light if served with something hot and well flavoured like grilled lamb cutlets with mint and thyme. A wonderful find for us. Exceptional value.

1x B.P. Rothschild Maipo Mapu Reserva Cabernet Sauvignon Chile, Maipo Tier 1

“Beautiful dark red. Aromas of black currant, blackberries and blueberries. The taste is fresh and elegant, with round and soft tannins that gives the wine excellent balance. The long and expressive finish rounds off a wonderful fruity and powerful wine.”

The site also goes on to say that mechanically harvested grapes are fermented at high temperature in stainless steel barrels for a ‘long time’ (to protect good balanced tannin structure) then spends 7 to 8 months ageing in stainless steel; this wine receives no oak at all. So, a lot of fruit, jammy almost with a hint of  mint;  no tobacco or cigar box notes. Its inexpensive to find out for yourself.

Me, I thought that for the price it was absolutely lovely, easy to drink and had enough interest to keep me satisfied. Great value in Chile at the moment.

1x Sella&Mosca La Cala DOC Italy, Sardinia Tier 2

What a shame. This wine was also just a bit too old and probably killed off by the same shop keeper I mentioned a couple of weeks ago, who returned it to us (he , who turned off the aircon last summer 2013 (when we put it in his shop) and he didn’t mend the fridge when it packed up. But, try as I might to lay all the blame at their useless feet, if honest, we can’t. Just most of it. This wine was probably getting long in the tooth anyway. 10.5pts (usually a 15-16.5pts)

HOWEVER (Big Fanfare), now that the fresh 2012 vintage has arrived we can relax and go back to the beauty of what was there before, zippy acidity & marine saltiness, somewhere between a Chardonnay & Sauvignon blanc (nearer to the latter?) and not a million miles from a Pinot Grigio, but with less ‘grapey-ness’. We hope to say that the 2012 will restore that crown.

1x Enrico Serafino Barbaresco DOCG Italy, Piedmont Tier 3

We have a treat here; a SERIOUS wine, SERIOUSLY well-priced.

Barbaresco is one of the world’s most important wines. This Special Italian red is a rich and seriously structured wine from the Piedmont region of Italy. The nose has intense violets and spices. The complex and velvet smooth flavours will reward the patient drinker further (and for many years). We are talking here strong food matches with game, grilled meats or cheeses.

Our Serafino Barbaresco is a mouthwatering treat. And no-one else has it.

Robert Parker gives the 2007 vintage an, ‘extraordinary’ 96/100 and ‘early maturing’ too; so a perfect storm of buy signals. Barbaresco has achieved ‘extraordinary’ only 7 times since 1970, and once in the last decade and this is that vintage.  Just a few 2007’s left. Now we are into 2009, a lovely vintage, also.

1x De Bortoli Sacred Hill Chardonnay Australia, Riverina Tier 1

Our top selling white, amazing quality for the price and a wine we drink at home every other week. This was a top seller even before vintage after vintage won competitions (Gold, Silver and Bronze medals around the world).

Pale straw with green hue. Zesty lemon citrus and stone fruit aromas balanced with buttery oak notes. “Yum Yum”, says the Wine Man. Fruit-driven wine with crisp acid, great texture and balance on the mid palate. The subtle oak approach has given added structure to the wine without overpowering it, leaving the citrus and stone fruit flavours to dominate.

In short: They got this spot on. It’s a major secret because the retailers are full or poor quality wines at the same price!

1x Zonin Nero D'Avola Italy, Sicily Tier 2

This 100% Nero d’Avola is an example of modern Italian wine-making on the historical wine-making island of Sicily. Used as part of the liberal Siciliane IGT designation.

Relatively dark but brilliant ruby-red. Broad and persistent, with evident and intense spicy scents as well as notes of almond blossoms. Dry and structured and showing outstanding roundness, the wine offers a sensation of complex fruitiness resembling that of cherries preserved in spirit, alternating with pleasant and highly persistent hints of spices. To be served at 18°C (64°F).

Food Combinations: A modern-styled blend variety that makes this wine a perfect complement to savoury first-course dishes dressed with meat sauces, roasts and aged cheeses. — quoted from zonin.co.uk

Like many regions, Sicily fully experienced Italy’s dismal post war viticultural bane: A long and glorious tradition unintentionally thwarted and terribly tarnished by Government over-subsidy and investment, which led mainly, to greater yields and lower associated quality wherever it took place. The decades long recovery, from the harm done to this region and the entire country’s reputation, has, at last, been restored.

Ignore the image above: We just don’t have the updated bottle/label picture yet. No one does!

1x Zonin Pinot Grigio Delle Venezie DOC Italy, Veneto Tier 2

Though the wine has evolved, sadly, the picture we have has not! Please ignore the one shown here. We just cannot find the correct one anywhere!

Pinot gris (aka Pinot Grigio) is a white wine grape variety, thought to be a mutant clone of the Pinot Noir grape. It normally has a greyish-blue fruit, accounting for its name (gris meaning “grey” in French) but the grape can have a brownish pink to black and even white appearance. The wines produced from this grape also vary in colour from a deep golden yellow to copper and even a light shade of pink. The clone of Pinot Gris grown in Italy is known as Pinot Grigio.

Appealing straw-yellow colour with delicate green reflections. Delicately fruity, medium bodied and refined. Lightly dry, yet extremely fresh. It also offers a delicious reminder of the original grape. It’s light and elegant structure makes this an unusually refined and aristocratic wine, especially at this price point.

Food Matching: It combines particularly well with delicate appetizers, pasta courses with light sauces and white meats. In addition, it makes a fine aperitif.

Popular with those who like a wine to be drier and fresh with some appealing fruit notes.

1x B.P. Rothschild Maipo Mapu Sauvignon Blanc Chardonnay Chile, Maipo Tier 1

Bright and brilliant pale yellow. Fresh and elegant, it opens on grapefruit and mango notes. A fresh elegant attack leads into a succulent mid-palate that starts on citrus and goes on to develop notes of tropical fruit, building to a lively and well-balanced finish.

We would have to say that the Rothschild forays into Chile have been great for the consumer. They are in the Mapu range producing the golden bullet wines we seek: low cost wines punching above their weight in a sturdy, consistent and agreeable way.

1x Zonin Sparkling (Spumante) Rose Italy, Veneto Tier 2

This has wings. Flies out the door every spring and summer. This is what we drink at home when there’s a birthday or other special. We call it Pink Prosecco which it is in everything but name. Here’s what the web tells us:

A lightly-coloured sparkling rose with a fine, persistent & seductively delicate perlage (That means a nice ‘mousse’ or bubbles to you and me). Pleasant, intense and fruity, evoking memories of wisteria flowers and Renetta apples. (That means it smells nice too). Well-blended and delightful. On the palate it is soft and smooth with floral notes and a hint of almond. (All true!)

Food Matching: Excellent as an aperitif and an ideal accompaniment to hors d’oeuvres risottos, fragrant fried food and grilled fish. (and if memory serves, dishes with a cream sauce, shellfish, sole/halibut, salmon, tuna, Mild cheese and cream based dips).

1x Zonin Prosecco - Black Bottle Italy, Veneto Tier 2

The Best Selling Prosecco in the world…and for a reason that matters. The perfect storm of style, sophistication and quality. Prosecco is always more easily accessible than either drier Cavas and Champagnes, certainly, fruitier and I don’t know how to put this: MORE FUN. Not much else to say, other than…it always satisfies.

Luminous, brilliant straw yellow. Intense, fruity, aromatic, with scents of wisteria. Extremely pleasant, with a lightly nutty finish.

Food Matching: An excellent aperitif, it can also accompany dishes that are not too rich; ideal with fruit salad.

Reviews and Scores: Vintage , 87/100 , Wine Enthusiast , “A Best Buy” June 2006

Fine Party 18

Price: ¥2,500

This is the fine party wine collection to end all fine party wine collections. 

We purr just looking at the cast of greats tastes. If this set landed on a doorstep on November 1st, Thanksgiving, Hanukkah, Christmas and New Year really would have come early.

So, with so many continents, styles, price points and occasions represented and catered to, Happy Holidays.

Every base is covered, except perhaps a dessert wine (which is a personal favourite; and even if they are just a little too eclectic for many buyers, we do have them; Icewine / Sauternes, etc). Just ask and we’ll add one. If any of the Bin Ends run out we have very able replacements ready (as always: strength in depth).

If your boss is coming over, blow his socks off with something impressive on the eyeballs and the palate, like the Marchese Di Villamarina DOC . Or keep that one for your self: maybe you deserve a world beater now and again.

Again, just let us know. I’m sure we can fit it in the boxes, or at the very least, replace another wine and simply recalculate the price.

Please click on the wines listed below to extend/retract descriptions.

2x Heritage De Baroncourt VDP Rouge France, Languedoc

A simple fruity glugger with some complexity beyond it’s price-tag. Better than some wines twice its price, but not on our lists of course. Supple, well balanced and fruit-driven with lingering final notes of fruit ripeness that enhance its aromas. Spicy aromas and a blend of red berry fruits. There is a whiff of vanilla on the nose. A deep ruby colour.

Vinification: De-stemming Traditional fermentation with pumping over and strict temperature control. Aged in vats. (Anybody want to know that?)

Food suggestions: Perfect match with many dishes, including barbecue,salads and cheese. Serve at: 17℃-18℃

Apparently, It’s made from Cabernet Franc (50%) and the remainder split equally between Merlot and Syrah, which had me astounded, as I don’t like Merlot!

2x B.P.Rothschild Mapu Cabernet Sauvignon Carmenere Chile, Maipo

Your chance perhaps to have your first glimpse of Carmenere.

We would have to say that The Rothschild forays into Chile have been great for the consumer. They are, in the Mapu range, producing the golden bullet wines we seek: low cost wines punching above their weight in a sturdy, consistent and agreeable way.

Very attractive ruby red with a violet tint. Rich and generous, an explosion of red fruit, blackcurrant and blackberry mingled with subtle, spicy notes. A fresh, round and fruity attack.

Elegantly structured by the Cabernet Sauvignon, on the mid-palate the wine displays the velvet, silky tannins typical of Carmenère picked at optimum ripeness. Very pleasant overall balance, the harmonious finish lingering on the richness and freshness of the fruit.

Fabulous.

2x Enrico Serafino Barbera D'Asti DOCG Italy, Piedmont

The Wine Man says: New vintage makes this the best sub ¥100 wine in Shanghai. This is more refined and interesting than anything ¥30 more expensive, from both the old and new world.

Barbera D’Asti is a wine that displays an intense violet colour and typical perfumes of cherries. Intense and rich nose. The typical nice acidity brought by Barbera grapes creates an explosion of cherry and flowers perfumes. It never fails to impress.

Great when first opened, it is absolutely stunning after 1 hours open.

Food Matching: Put it with food and you are in for an ‘experience’. Game and roast meat. Serving temperature 16-17 °C.

1x Chateau Lamargue Costieres de Nimes Cuvee Aegidienne AOC France, Rhone

With a predominance of ripe fruits, with hints of blackcurrant and liquorice; this Cuvee also has some warming spice. The strong tannic structure is dense and substantial, showing great potential for ageing, probably for 4 to 5 years, if you are a little patient. Otherwise, allow the wine to breathe for a few hours.

Food Matching: Can be tasted alone, for the pleasure of experiencing such a substantial wine (and it is rather substantial) but I believe this Cuvee Aegidiene is at it’s best when paired with a substantial and well cooked meal with meat in sauce or game. Fabulous with a beef stroganoff or a rustic European Casserole.

Serving temperature: 20°C,Uncork at least 2 hours before serving for the absolute best results, and it punches above it’s price tag.

1x Torres Ibericos Rioja Crianza DOC Spain, Rioja Silver medal 2014

Youthful crimson red. The aromas of forest fruits and spices. Lovely expression of fruit on the palate with hint of peppery spice. Well-structured with round tannins and elegant finish.

Food Matching: Accompanies roasted meats, stews, Iberian charcuterie, and cured cheeses. Me, I love it with a steak or a hearty casserole.

We are selling this (medium length) oaked Rioja crianza cheaper than we ought. I guess it’s because not enough folks have access to nice wines at decent prices. Go figure. We also sell this in half bottle and magnums. See our PDF long list along with ~800 other wines.

1x Enrico Serafino Barolo DOCG Italy, Piedmont Gold Medal 2013

This famous Italian red is a world renowned, top echelon wine.

It is an elegant and harmonious wine from the Piedmont region of Italy. Expect a very big wine packing an enormous barrage of flavours. The nose: intense liquorice, tobacco and vanilla.

The complex and velvet smooth flavours will reward the patient drinker further and (as with all Barolo) for many years to come.

Food matches: game, roasts, red meats and mature cheeses.

Scoop up these bargains now. It is so rare to find this producer, this vintage, this price.

Robert Parker gives the 2004 vintage 96/100. This wine is that vintage.

1x Salentein Portillo Chardonnay Argentina, Mendoza

Mendoza is the region crowned King in Argentina and there are some expensive wines coming out of that place. This is not one of them. A simple wine that basically does nothing wrong. It’s a safe bet. It won’t bejazzle anyone’s evening nor end up in the sink. It’s chordinary. It’s a goodish price. It’s a safe introduction to Argentina’s whites. other’s said:

An interesting yellow hue endowed with sharp greenish shades. Deeply aromatic wine, combining notes of pear and green apple. Fresh and well balanced, with a long finish.

Food Matching: Ideal to combine with meals from the new light cuisine (whatever that is….). Try it with warm salad and poached seafood (now, that would work).

1x Mannenberg Shiraz South Africa, Stellenbosch

Well, well, well. This bottle was opened on a night when I felt really adventurous. Mannenberg Shiraz thumbVery, very surprisingly good and for little money. The stable-mates both do a great job for little money also, and turn up in restaurants at very reasonable prices too (especially the Chenin Blanc), but due to it’s south African origin, few are aware or interested. Pity.

For me South African red wines can be summed up as ‘Australian with a Earthy French centre’. That’s a broad sweeping statement, true, but that’s my take. The whites are splendidly New World, with Chenin outshining many other (all other?) parts of the world. We found this as the house wine last night (April 2014) in one of our local restaurants (La Mesa in Gao Jing Lu, although we don’t supply it) and it’s great value in such places, too, much like the Chenin Blanc featured earlier from the same producer). What I found in this wine was a new go-to sub ¥100 wine, and worth every bit it’s 16.5pts

June 2014 update: It is always an interesting note worth mentioning when a Wine Man deliberately returns to a wine shortly after testing it formally. Just did that here again with a 2010 bottle. Same response, yet with a little more bottle develop0ment really adding up to produce awesomely well integrated wood to give it a nice elegant polish. 17pts.

1x Enrico Serafino Gavi DOCG Italy, Piedmont

Gavi is among the elite wines of Piedmont and one of the best white wines in the world. 100% Cortese grapes make this delicately scented, full bodied and fresh DOCG wine. There is a distinctive, subtle floral fragrance. The tannins are appealing and there’s plenty of acidity. A perfect partner to fish, risotto and white meats, this wine repays serving cold between 8-10°C.

Folks who try a single bottle in a mixed case become hooked and order them in 6′s from then on. One of our top sellers. A very classy wine indeed, nicely presented, oozing elegance.

We supply this wine to wine bars, who lap it up, because they want that elegance and scarcity element, but mainly because it normally costs a small fortune. Our pleasure…

This wine looks set to be withdrawn from China this year…2013. Hope not, as there’s nothing quite like it our there.

1x Fernway Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc New Zealand, Marlborough

This is a majestic yet assertive expression of the Sauvignon Blanc grape for which New Zealand has now achieved legendary status. Marlborough is the epicentre of that revolution.

The wine is pale straw in hue, with an impressive aromatic attack of gooseberries, cucumber and asparagus. The flavour profile is complex with wonderful crispness from highly integrated acidity. The long refreshing finish is incredibly more-ish.

Some have commented that it beats NZ masters like Sacred Hill and Oyster Bay hands down. Praise indeed and less than half the price of the latter. Supply issuus whiched dogged the brand in 2010 have been sorted out but I always keep plenty in stock now.

1x Kleine Zalze Vineyard Selection Chenin Blanc South Africa, Stellenbosch Bronze '13 & Commended '14

Straw coloured. Concentrated nose with tropical fruit and honey aromas. Elements of botrytis. Gorgeous big, rich, creamy palate. Layers of flavour – apricots. Noticeable residual sugar, but balanced by good acidity. Complex wine with great length.

There are wines for telling others about because you can’t wait to have someone else experience what you just did. This is that wine for me this year (2011). To the average wine drinker this offering comes from a little known producer in a little known region doing something unheard-of in a barrel with a little known grape (outside France). It knocked my socks off. It’s massive! So great, I literally did not want the bottle to be finished. And now its a an international award winner at Decanter Magazine. Don’t say we didn’t tell you first.

1x Cinzano Prosecco DOC Italy, Veneto

I really find some of these generic tasting notes so funny. This one below, actually understates the case. When I give a taste of this Cinzano Prosecco to folks every single person drinks, smiles and has a refill. The finish is the killer. It’s the honey flavours. So fresh and fun through the attack and middle but what a moreish finish. Bubbles is always satisfying, but unlike Champagnes which can be quite heavy (if there’s a lot of Pinot Noir in the blend), Proseccos are lighter and fresher, and the fruit seems always vibrant with a nice balancing acidity.

That’s me; a Prosecco fan.

Here’s what the notes said:

“A brut sparkling wine created from predominately Prosecco grapes in the northern Veneto region of Italy in the foothills of the Alps. It is crisp and clean with overtones of citrus, melon, lemon, almonds, and honey. It pairs nicely with seafood, salads and light pastas. Enjoy a traditional Bellini cocktail and mix it with some peach puree.”

(Oh, yes, and it’s fun to drink it. The Wine Man)

1x Zonin Sparkling (Spumante) Rose DOC Italy, Veneto

This has wings. Flies out the door every spring and summer. This is what we drink at home when there’s a birthday or other special. We call it Pink Prosecco which it is in everything but name. Here’s what the web tells us:

A lightly-coloured sparkling rose with a fine, persistent & seductively delicate perlage (That means a nice ‘mousse’ or bubbles to you and me). Pleasant, intense and fruity, evoking memories of wisteria flowers and Renetta apples. (That means it smells nice too). Well-blended and delightful. On the palate it is soft and smooth with floral notes and a hint of almond. (All true!)

Food Matching: Excellent as an aperitif and an ideal accompaniment to hors d’oeuvres risottos, fragrant fried food and grilled fish. (and if memory serves, dishes with a cream sauce, shellfish, sole/halibut, salmon, tuna, Mild cheese and cream based dips).

1x Grahams Fine Ruby Port Portugal, Douro

Every now and then a sip of port transports the drinker to a special place. And it keeps for ages! Grahams is one of the world’s renowned producers continually making award winning ports.

Intensely aromatic with ripe red and black berries aromas. Full-bodied, luscious black cherry flavours with excellent balance and an intense finish.

Good match for aperitif with snacks, with dark chocolate or fruit dessert, or with a light blue cheese.

1x Torres 10 Brandy Spain

You can tell I did not write this:

With the passing of time the elegant, round overtones of oak are fused, in close harmony with the strong spirituous aroma of venerable distillates that give character to Torres 10, Gran Reserva.
Dark topaz-coloured, with fine old gold tints. Of strong aroma, it displays an intense bouquet – more spiritual than spirituous – with warm hints of spices (cinnamon, vanilla). On the palate it is round and rich in tannins, developing towards a lush and lingering aftertaste.

However, I buy this Brandy and drink it, over and over and over again. Perfect 10.

Summer Sales! 3 options : Every week

Something mad is happening in the world of currencies. Instability is leading to price hikes from all the major players. We can only absorb those for so long. The best way we can do that is to sell more wine.
Option A: PARTY Supplies: Use us for all your summer parties. Order over 60 bottles of ANY two wines for a whopping 25% discount off our standard price. Meet that criteria and we’ll supply your beers at cost. (remember we do free glass hire too).
Option B: Select 48 bottles from the discounted summer sales wines below in multiples of 6.
Option C: Lucky Dip (Wine Man picks 24 bottles for ¥1250). Deal!
  • Free delivery (in Shanghai only).
  • Cut and paste ’em back to us or use e.g. ‘6x red #3, 6x #6, 6x #7’ etc…in an email.

Here’s the list for option B:

Whites

  1. Callia Chardonnay San Juan  ¥68
  2. Emblema Sauvignon Blanc Chile  ¥72
  3. Rothschild Sauvignon Blanc/Chardonnay Chile  ¥74
  4. Callia Alta Chardonnay/Torrontes  San Juan  ¥82
  5. Chiaro Pinot Grigio Veneto  ¥84
  6. Mannenberg Chenin Blanc S. Africa  ¥84
  7. De Bortoli Chardonnay Australia  ¥86
  8. Portillo Chardonnay Mendoza  ¥90
  9. Hemisferio Sauvignon Blanc Chile  ¥92 (new stock in May)
  10. Firriato Branciforti Bianco Sicily  ¥92
  11. San Medin Sauvignon Blanc Chile  ¥94
  12. Lindemans Bin65 Chardonnay Australia  ¥132

Sparkling

  1. De Bortoli Sparkling Brut White Australia  ¥86
  2. Zonin Prosecco  Italy ¥128

Reds

  1. Callia Shiraz San Juan ¥68
  2. Callia Shiraz-Cabernet San Juan ¥70
  3. Emblema Cabernet Sauvignon Chile  ¥72
  4. Rothschild Cab Sauvignon/Carmenere Chile  ¥74
  5. Callia Alta Shiraz-Malbec San Juan  ¥82
  6. De Bortoli CabernetMerlot Australia  ¥86
  7. De Bortoli Shiraz-Cabernet Australia  ¥86
  8. Portillo Malbec Mendoza  ¥90
  9. Hemisferio Cabernet Sauvignon Chile  ¥92
  10. Firriato Branciforti Rosso Sicily ¥92
  11. San Medin Cabernet Sauvignon Chile  ¥94
  12. Zonin Classici Montepulciano D’Abruzzo DOC Italy  ¥105

Please note for these offers:

  • Minimums above
  • Free Delivery
  • Cash on delivery
  • Open to all customers
  • Orders by website contact form, email & sms only. [email protected] or 15001996047
  • Delivery on Wednesdays, Thursdays Saturdays and Sundays only for these deals (please pick a preferred day & time, and a second choice). Other times by special arrangement.
  • Please mention us to your new friends and colleagues and if they join our happy club to become ‘at one’ with us, we’ll sneak a treat into your next order.
Move Fast: prices will be rising in April. ♥  ♥  ♥

{ 0 comments }

6 Spanish Sensations (Tier 1 & 2)

Price: ¥815

spain-flagWe have 62 different Spanish wines in our long list.Spanish wines regions Nov 2013 That’s only the tip of the iceberg. Spain’s history with the grape is long and diverse. It has the largest acreage in Europe under the vine.

The great thing about Spanish wine laws is that the bottles are not released until they are properly aged. So we get to buy wine that the wineries aged for us in perfect conditions.

Here, a mix of Spanish styles, modern and old. This is a great introduction to the Spanish love affair born of varying the elements of fruit, acid & oak so brilliantly captured in a windswept, sun-baked land of parched skies, altitude and sunshine: tiers 1 & 2.barrels and barrels

Rich with a trio of Torres household names.

This Mixed Case can form the perfect foundation for a wider, deeper, more esoteric Spanish collection.

Please click on the wines listed below to extend/retract descriptions.

1x Torres Vina Sol Penedes Bronze MEDAL 2013 & 2014

These wines are made with traditional varieties drawn from Catalan viticulture with grapes well adapted to the local soils and climate. Parellada is a lovely grape, somewhere between the stonefruit of Chardonnay and the crispness of Sauvignon Blanc.

Lovely bright yellow with light green reflections. Fresh aroma with elegant notes of fruit. Fine acid structure giving a smooth, well-balanced palate. Notable, pleasing fruit backdrop (green apple, pineapple) enhanced by hints of spice (fennel). Food Matching: Ideal as aperitif, or with rice dishes, fish and seafood. Serve slightly chilled (around 10ºC).

Reviews and Scores: Vintage 2010, 86/100 , Robert Parker’s Wine Advocate

1x Castillo di Manza La Manza Tempranillo La Mancha

This is a dark purple red with an attractive violet tone. There’s a clean aroma of ripe fruits; strawberry and raspberry and some pervading herbal notes. On the palate it is smooth and full bodied with soft tannins. There’s a good weight and it’s hearty disposition means this wine thrives alongside some hearty food, like roast meats and chilli and pizza.

Castillo de Manza falls firmly under the ‘glugger’ moniker with such a price, but wait, there is something unusual about this wine. For me, it resembles a French wine; not a Spanish. I could swear there are Cabernets Sauvignon or Franc in this blend evidenced by the herbaceous aromas and weight. It seems so French. But it is 100% Tempranillo, the grape of Rioja, Ribero Del duero and Valdepeñas.

1x Camino De Castilla Ribera Del Duero Tempranillo Crianza Ribera Del Duero

Intense blackberry colour. Spicy and intense nose, with liquorice and black pepper hints on a base of well ripened fruits (blackberry and cherry). On the palate, very fruity at first with ripened tannins, also persistent and full bodied.

Ribera Del Duero is a unique place in Europe. It has some of the most expensive wines in the World and relatively few know it exists or where it is.

A region known for very expensive wines has thrown up an absolute gem at a real bargain: a glimpse into the majesty that is the region. Out of the reach of many mortals, Vega Sicilia which we sell for over 3000RMB a bottle is grown within a day’s walk of our Camino De Castilla. Think Rioja with a similar fruit intensity, just a tad less oak and a little cheaper than our Pomal (nee Paceta) Rioja crianza.

The wine would be in it’s best light if served with something hot and well flavoured like grilled lamb cutlets with mint and thyme. A wonderful find for us. Exceptional value.

Try a new region largely accessible only to the knowledgeable (or for a number of wines, the very wealthy).

1x Torres Ibericos Rioja Crianza Tempranillo Rioja Silver MEDAL Winner 2014

To outsiders, Rioja would be the most well-known Spanish region. It is where my love affair with Spanish wines began. Here is a Rioja crianza (medium length oak-aged). I guess it’s because not enough folks have access to nice wines at decent prices that we always try to sell this wine well below the market price, around 15 to 20% discounted. Go figure. We also sell this in half bottle and magnums. Just ask.

A youthful crimson red. The aromas of forest fruits and spices. Lovely expression of fruit on the palate with hint of peppery spice. Well-structured with round tannins and elegant finish. Food Matching: Accompanies roasted meats, stews, Iberian charcuterie, and cured cheeses.

This is what German website had to say:

“In the glass a bright cherry red. In the nose an intense, opulent bouquet with aromas of sweet ripe dark berries and cherries next to warm spicy hints of cocoa and nutmeg, which result from the maturation in oak barrels. On the palate, extremely seductive with noticeable but soft tannins, and a fine spice in the lingering long final. Perfect with grilled or roasted meat, tangy and spicy stews, Iberian ham or sausage and smoked cheese.”

Here’s what I say: If you can, give it plenty of air time. The more it breathes, the greater it becomes. I try to open it a day before I need it. I never manage to leave it alone on the first day though…still learning to listen to myself.

1x Torres Vina Esmeralda Catalunya Bronze MEDAL 2013

Straw colour, with a brilliant iridescent sheen. The very rich aroma, has floral (rose and jasmine) and fruity (passion fruit and banana) highlights over a fine base of spices (lavender and vanilla). There’s a fresh palate with smooth acidity. The floral and fruity notes are complemented by nuances of thyme, bay leaf and green apple. Food Matching: Best wine matching with Asian cuisine, either with shellfish or spicy dishes.

Reviews and Scores: Vintage 2007, 84/100 , Wine Spectator

1x Bodegas Bilbainas Vina Pomal Rioja Crianza Rioja Silver MEDAL Winner 2014

This 100% Tempranillo Rioja Crianza wine was recently rebranded with the same name as its celebrated Riserva stable-mate, as Bodegas Bilbainas Vina Pomal Rioja Crianza. The title crianza means this a medium aged wine; up to 18 months.

Tempranillo is the premium red wine grape variety, notably from the Rioja and Ribera del Duero regions in Spain. Tempranillo’s aromas and flavours often combine elements of berry fruit, herbs, and an earthy-leathery minerality. Being low in acidity and sugar content, it is commonly blended with Carignan (Mazuela), Grenache (Garnacha), Graciano, Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon. This example has plenty of acidity which rounds out the fruit and oak, nicely.

Lovely example of a tasty Tempranillo fruit with nice balancing acidity. This is a wine that cries out for food. Dark and intoxicating hues and aromas hit you with a strong attack of integrated oak and fruit. If you open it and leave it alone for 2 hours you will be handsomely repaid.

Wineducation: France’s Vini-Factoid-graphics: An Infographic

April 10, 2017
Thumbnail image for Wineducation: France’s Vini-Factoid-graphics: An Infographic

A fascinating infographic that informs as it amazes as it shocks! The Tour de France not to pass near Bordeaux or Rhone in the centenary year!? Mon Dieux! Pour De France – Some Corking Facts About French Wine infographic  

Find Out More →

Basic Wine Guide : Infographic

April 3, 2017
Thumbnail image for Basic Wine Guide : Infographic

Here is a clear simple and pretty well thought out infographic that covers all the major spectra in wine differentiation. by madelinep.  

Find Out More →

About Us: Testimonials

March 24, 2017
Thumbnail image for About Us: Testimonials

Thank you for all these kind comments. It means a lot. “There’s been masses of talk about fake wine in the new supermarkets on jinfeng on the community wechat yesterday , I have posted your details.”Lilah” now a powerful advocate. “We are moving to the US. Thanks for being our Wine Man in Shanghai. Wish […]

Find Out More →

Wineducation: The Different Wine Types: An Infographic

February 4, 2017
Thumbnail image for Wineducation: The Different Wine Types: An Infographic

Here an interesting Infographic bestowing all the Wine Styles under the sun… Different types of wine infographic by madelinep.  

Find Out More →

# WINE CLUB: The ‘Third Way’

January 27, 2017
Thumbnail image for # WINE CLUB: The ‘Third Way’

Club Wine Offerings now include a ‘third way’ personal service, running since October 2014. Tell us you want to receive a case of 12 wines (minimum) each month. We’ll discuss your favourites (and likely future favourites), your comfortable average spend per bottle and ratios of reds to whites to roses to Sparkling wines; to assemble a base list from which to select your wines each month. The changing mixes of wines will be brought to your place in multiples of 12 bottles on a set date.

Find Out More →

De Bortoli Australian Taster Pack (Tier 1) 12 btls: REDUCED

January 22, 2017
Thumbnail image for De Bortoli Australian Taster Pack (Tier 1) 12 btls: REDUCED

The Holy Trinity from the Sacred Hill range by De Bortoli is always ¥120 less than the retail price (except when we slash it further during promotions: like now!). Award Winning wines. Includes Shanghai Marriott’s House Red. Honoured as Winestate Magazine’s Australian Winery of the year 2010. We love De Bortoli. Also in the Sacred Hill range: Shiraz (a bronze medal winner) & Cabernet-Merlot (silver Medal Winner). BTW, their Family Selection range is the same wine in a different package.

Price: ¥1,125

Find Out More →

About us: Our Shipping Policy: FREE DELIVERY

January 18, 2017
Thumbnail image for About us: Our Shipping Policy: FREE DELIVERY

Our Shipping Policy Explained For 2016 we have further reduced the required spend to qualify for Free delivery in all zones. We ship with FREE Delivery throughout Shanghai, when geographical minimum order amounts are met. However, fees positively influence reductions in the number of journeys made to locations. For clearer pricing, fewer Shanghai traffic journeys and […]

Find Out More →

Subscribe for a 7.5% Discount & membership benefits

Thumbnail image for Subscribe for a 7.5% Discount & membership benefits January 15, 2017

LWwines would like to offer you a treat. Please enjoy a 7.5% discount off your very first order. All subscribers to our newsletter benefit from both the standard membership benefits, plus…access these exclusive benefits: a 7.5% ‘new subscriber’ discount off any 12 wines of your choice from our tiers 1, 2 and 3 when mixed […]

Find Out More →

About Us: LWwines’ Edge

January 3, 2017
Thumbnail image for About Us: LWwines’ Edge

We are fully independent. No gimmicks, flashing nonsense, pop-ups, unrelated ads or eternal sales pitches from us. So, both regular wine buffs and infrequent wine drinker novices choose us. We do what we say we will do. I know: that’s a small miracle anywhere, but here in SH, doubly so. Don’t just take our word for it. Ask around. Customers should shop around though; browse elsewhere: Keep an eye out. Then recognise for themselves, our worth. It’s a healthy way to be.

Find Out More →

What are Hub Customers?

December 31, 2016
Thumbnail image for What are Hub Customers?

Hub customers: share a fun shopping experience, meet socially, save money, drink nicer wines, help the Earth, enjoy real ‘free delivery’: which usually, is just a hidden cost…

Find Out More →

# Taster Pack 1: (Tier 1&2) 12 btls

December 29, 2016
Thumbnail image for # Taster Pack 1: (Tier 1&2) 12 btls

We have updated and redesigned and doubled the size of this pack in a neat variety of styles. Now a Global Pack; popular wines are joined by a top selling Aussie Sparkler, a couple of interesting everyday wines, including our top selling red wines from both Italy & France, and a renowned, elegant AWARD Winning Italian white. See Inside for details.

Price: ¥985

Find Out More →

Wineducation: Beginner’s Guide to Wine: An Infographic

November 7, 2016
Thumbnail image for Wineducation: Beginner’s Guide to Wine: An Infographic

Here’s an infographic we found. It’s a little bit ‘hit and miss’, but worth a look. To be honest, we don’t see no value at all in the ‘colouring’ area of the chart, given that Malbec is certainly about as far from being Pink as can be imagined…and personally think the glass shape issue is […]

Find Out More →

# Taster Pack 4 (Tier 1&2) 12 Btls: New World

October 30, 2016
Taster Pack 4

Welcome to our latest offering in the Taster Pack series. I have gathered 6 pairs of distinctive New World wines, each of which make a very respectable introduction to the local regional style for each grape variety.

Price: ¥1,315

Find Out More →

# Taster Pack 3 (Tier 1) 12 bottles

August 29, 2016
Taster Pack 3 (Tier 1)

These are the wines we drink at home on a regular basis. TP3, like TP2 maintains the ‘easily accessible, easy drinking, easy on the pocket’ theme while flipping the New & Old World ratios. TP3 features 12 wines from 7 countries born of 5 continents, 3 from the Old World and 9 from the New. TWM

Price: ¥1,125

Find Out More →

Blind Tastings: an objection to a subjective view: redux

August 26, 2016
Thumbnail image for Blind Tastings: an objection to a subjective view: redux

For the most part, groups often displayed elements of disharmony, brought about by some perceived skill and knowledge disparity. Rather than an open, exploratory forum fostering growth; simplistic, defensive positions often arose. In short, attendees felt unsettled during the experience and I had no desire to be in a room full of people who either didn’t want to be there or who wanted to crow louder than anyone else

Find Out More →

European Taster Pack (Tier 1&2) 12 btls: Another Upgrade & Greater Depth

August 20, 2016
European Value Pack

Benchmark starter pack. Easy on the pocket.1st tier gems from the 3 big guns of Europe: Spain, Italy & France. Versatile, approachable; distinctive old world quality. Cheers, Rhone, La Mancha & Sardinia for being off the ‘trendy’ radar = realistically priced. Plus, a ‘lucky find’ Burgundy Chardonnay.

Price: ¥1,000

Find Out More →

Taste Tests: #8

August 14, 2016

Here is our eighth 2015 report into 8 (plus a sneaky extra 1) wines recently tested. The intention (failing miserably again today) is to limit the number of wines in each report, ensuring bite-sized nuggets, released with greater regularity whilst avoiding over-brevity-inducing pointless, vacuous blah-blah (some hope of that!). Sometimes, a theme reveals itself: Sometimes […]

Find Out More →

South American Stars (Tier 1-3) 12 btls: HUGE upgrade

July 30, 2016
South American Stars (Tier 1,2&3) 12 Bottles

The already impressive case just got a massive upgrade to the status its name deserves with an influx of new, award winning, red wines. A fabulous vertical line-up of intriguing South American icons (and new comers) from tiers 1, 2 & 3. A veritable feast of experiences with our seal of approval and at a neat value point. We are very proud to create and present this selection of treats. We love all the wines in this pack. You will too.

Price: ¥1,699

Find Out More →

# Taster Pack 2: (Tier1&2) 12 btls: Wine Man Pick

July 28, 2016
Taster Pack 2 (1st Tier Wines)

Old and New World side by side: a distinctive range of styles at great value. It is difficult to believe that one or two of these wines are even in the first tier and it shows that 1st tier doesn’t mean second rate. Some seriously good wines here with awards from major publications.

Price: ¥1,100

Find Out More →